William Hartnell (2)

This rare William Hartnell interview from 1964 was conducted between seasons 1 and 2, in terms of production at least.

Q: Are you pleased with the way the series has been received?

A: Very. We’re all very pleased and honoured that so many people seem to have taken it to their hearts.

Q: Are you surprised at how popular ‘Doctor Who’ is?

A: In some ways yes, in some ways no. I always believed in the idea of it, but a good idea is no guarantee of success. I suppose it was with the second serial, where we meet the Daleks, that it really took off. I’m very pleased. They’re coming back, you know, in the new series.

Q: Are the Daleks your favourite monsters from the first series?

A: Well I’m not sure that they weren’t the only monsters. All the other adversaries, were they really monsters? They were in many cases human, or human-like, and quite complicated in terms of their motivations. I think perhaps the Daleks were the only monsters. They were very good. I knew that from the moment I first saw them, I knew they had legs, if you’ll excuse the pun.

Q: Are there any other adversaries from the first series returning?

A: No, I don’t think so. We don’t want to rest on our laurels, we want to create new adversaries. The Daleks we can’t ignore, they’re everywhere, they’ve invaded the high street. But I hope we don’t overuse them. I was very clear on that with the producers. I told them we must not let the series descend into constant Dalek battles. They must be used sparingly.

Q: Do you have much input when it comes to storylines?

A: No, I keep my nose out. I dare say I could have more of a say, but we have very talented writers and I let them get on with their job, as I get on with mine.

Q: How much of the character of Doctor Who was present in the original script, and how much did you add?

A: Most of it was there. I brought something of myself to it, I’m sure, but if he and I sat down together we would seem very different. I think he’s a wonderful character, very mysterious and enigmatic but very kind beneath the veneer of grumpiness.

Q: You’re filming a second series now. Will there be a third?

A: I hope so. I think so. One never knows, but I think we’ll be back. I shall certainly be back if they let me.

3 Responses to “William Hartnell (2)”

  1. Cornjob Says:

    “The Daleks we can’t ignore, they’re everywhere, they’ve invaded the high street. But I hope we don’t overuse them.” RTD apparently did not read this interview. 😉

    • drwhointerviews Says:

      Agreed. Imagine the impact if they vanished for a few years, then returned with no warning…

  2. dailypop Says:

    It’s fascinating to read these interviews. I could spend all day plowing through them! What a treasure you’ve unearthed. Many thanks!

Leave a comment